Council elections loom large

Two of Mount Alexander Shire' Castlemaine ward councillors, Cr Dave Petrusma and Cr Bronwen Machin have both confirmed they won't stand for re-election in October's local government vote. Photo: Eve Lamb

Four of Mount Alexander Shire Council’s current seven councillors have confirmed they’ll seek re-election in October’s local government elections, while two have confirmed they will not.
Those who intend to nominate are mayor Cr Councillor Christine Henderson and councillors Tony Cordy, Stephen Gardner and Max Lesser.
But councillors Bronwen Machin and Dave Petrusma have both confirmed they will not stand for re-election.
Loddon River ward’s Cr John Nieman is the only current councillor who declined to indicate his hand either way at this stage.
Cr Nieman this week told the Mail his intention would not be made public until shortly before the close of candidate nominations…. More in today’s Mail Friday, August 28.

Eve Lamb
Journalist and photographer Eve Lamb has a Bachelor of Arts (Journalism) degree from Deakin University and a Master of Arts (Professional Writing) from Deakin University. She has worked for many regional newspapers including the Hamilton Spectator and the Warrnambool Standard, and has also worked for metro daily, The Hobart Mercury, and The Sunday Tasmanian. Eve has also contributed to various magazines including Australian Cyclist.